Okay- I’ll commit to some predictions. What do I win? A rise in stats on my blog, I guess. Predictions are based on my own set of facts- movies I saw, and award nods I feel are most deserved. Movies I missed do not count.

Best Picture- Moonlight (something worth saying, with poetry. Yes, I liked La La Land (see previous post)

Best Actor- Denzel Washington (Fences)- (Though Casey Affleck is favoured…)

Best Actress-Isabelle Huppert (Elle) (Okay, entirely based on buzz), though Meryl’s off-key singing is a stand-out. And I would love to hear her speech…

Best Supporting Actor- Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)  (only one I saw of the bunch. Maybe Dev Patel, for an incredible role in Lion.)

Best Supporting Actress-  Viola Davis (Fences) or Naomie Harris (Moonlight)

My only other comment is it would be something to see Lin Manuel Miranda complete his EGOT.

And I hope for plenty of on target political speeches….

Leave a Reply

