Teachers who write, writers who teach. Just finished another busy first term, and always feel the need to maximize this (brief) time off for writing. Meaning finishing a draft. Nothing is that close. I finished the draft of my ten minute script “Soccer and Haircuts” this summer, so now it is submitted in some festivals (I’m waiting for the response).

I also feel that if I have the time to write, then write. And I do. But I also notice how writing is letting my mind wander, as opposed to when it is otherwise preoccupied with grading or directing the school play. That includes wandering on the internet. I spent some time purposefully exploring reviews and youtube videos of an obscure theatre artist, since their work paralleled something I am presently exploring for my own playwriting, at least thematically…

It’s nice to have the time for all of the above. The new school term is next year, or only a couple of weeks away…

 

One thought on “Teachers Who Write, Writers Who Teach

Leave a Reply

