hosannaMichel Tremblay’s “Hosanna” made a big impression on my 16 year old self when I saw Richard Monette perform his Broadway role at the Toronto Free Theatre (now Buddies in Bad Times) in the seventies (not the least of which was seeing his drag persona with my parents).  The theatricality, and political metaphor, stayed with me.  I reference the monologue with my drama classes to this day. I also do a pretty good monologue from it, complete with the requisite Quebecois accent.

The current Soulpepper revival brought it all back.

imgres

Leave a Reply

