51fWhqBeboL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_It takes a person sick at home to finish a book called “On the Move” in less than a week. Or to quote the poet Thom Gunn, excerpted in the book:

At worst, one is in motion; and at best, Reaching no absolute, in which to rest, One is alway nearer by not keeping still.

T.S. Eliot: Art is the escape from personality.

Here are other quotable quotes from the inimitable Dr. Oliver Sacks. His memoir is a science book for non-scientists. It read like a breeze.

Writing a journal is talking to yourself.

On amphetamines:

“I needed nothing and nobody to “complete” my pleasure- it was essentially complete, though completely empty.”

I loved getting the note on my ereader when I completed the book: “Looks like you have been reading on another device” (due to the speed with which I read it on the reader). I had: the paperback edition.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

